3rd (East Kent) Regiment of Foot (or The Buffs)


The Buffs (East Kent Regiment)

Formerly the 3rd (East Kent - The Buffs)

The 3rd and 4th Battalions are formed of the East Kent Militia

1st Batt. Dublin

2nd Batt. Hong Kong

Regimental District No. 3 Canterbury


Julius Augustus Robert Raines

Lieutenant Colonels

John Blaksley

Shapland Graves

Lt. Colonel Graves organised for the Zulu war of 1879 the 2nd Regiment of Natal Native Contingent, consisting of two battalions, and served with Person's Column, in command of the regiment, during the advance to Ekowe, taking part in the engagement of Inyezane (mentioned in despatches as having been indefatigable in his exertions, Medal with Clasp)

Frederick Taylor Hobson

*Lt. Colonel Hobson served in the campaign of 1860 in China (Medal with Clasp for the Taku Forts)


Henry Thomas Halahan

Major Halahan served with the 3rd Buffs in the campaign of 1860 in China, and was present at the action of Sinho and taking of Tangku and the inner Taku Fort (Medal with Clasp). Served in the Zulu war of 1879 (Medal with Clasp)

Charles James Hamilton

Major Hamilton was employed in Natal during the Zulu war of 1879 (Medal)

William Frederick Kerr

Henry Drinkrow Harrison

Francis William Kane, Adjutant 24 Middlesex Rifle Volunteers

Charles Edward Reeves

Waldron Edward Roper Kelly, Adj. 3 and 4 Battalions (E. Kent Militia)

George Ernest Harley, Capt. Instructor, Hythe School of Musketry

Arthur Trevor Leslie

Robert Albert Hickson, Aide de Camp to Major General M. Walker

Henry Wallick Maclear


Arthur Charles Jackson

William Conquest Howarth

Albert Edward Ommanney, Adjutant 1 Volunteer Battalion The Buffs

Lionel Thomas Spens

Robert Walcott M'Gillivray Martin

Julius Batt Backhouse

Richard Stanley Hawks Moody, Staff College

Nathaniel Newham-Davis

John William Hind, Adj 3 Bn. Manchester Regt. (E. Lancashire Militia)

Cosmo Huntly Gordon

Francis Smith

Bryan Francis Holme


George Herbert Chippindall

Henry Calthorpe Somerset, Adj.

Robert George Kekewich, Adj.

David Francis Lews, Instructor of Musketry

Percy Green

Henry Raleigh Knight

Alfred James Whitacre Allen, at Staff College

Arthur Horsman Coles

John Hughes

Hugh Blackburn

Corry Langrishe Connellan

George Adrian Porter

Courtenay Bourchier Vyvyan

Alexander M'Lachlan

Arthur Henry Tylden-Pattenson

Vesey Thomas Bunbury

Archibald Francis Campbell-Johnston

Herbert St. David Jarrett

Percival Forbes Brine

Edgar Evelyn Ravenhill

Robert Edward Philips

Douglas Abercromby Hamilton

Richard Ley Retallack

George Graham Hughes D'Aeth

George Ripon

George Victor Dauglish

Charles Patteson Lloyd

Edward Charles James Williams

Reginald Bayard

William Henry Booth

Alexander Rowland Eustace

Bertram Reveley Mitford

Aella Molyneux Berkely Gage

Paymaster - Arthur William Hill Gelston

Quarter Master - Joseph Webb Fairley, John William Coombes



Motto "Veteri Frondescit Honore"....."With its Ancient Honour it is Evergreen"

© T. Machado 2007